Index 01.04.14

Café Royal Projects History

2011 Temporary Library
A ‘pop-up’ library of artists books, photo books and limited publications. 800 titles were made available in a gallery space for public viewing, presented as a reference library..

2012 International Drawing Project.
In excess of 5000 international submissions for an exhibition and ten printed volumes, recording the work exhibited. All drawings submitted digitally and standardised by print process; mono digital on A4 paper, hung in a grid. The exhibition was added to daily for one month with ten books published regularly throughout.

2013 Project
Artists, designers, photographers and publishers were invited to submit work to be hung in a similar way to the International Drawing Project. Artists’ / photobooks also exhibited along side the wall based work. Essays commissioned from Jörg Colberg, Lawrence Zeegen and Sarah Bodman. A set of four books published on the occasion of the event, titled Words, Photographs, Drawings and Books.

2014. Index
Index began as an online open submission project. Criteria being, ‘submissions must have already been used to communicate, or be communicative in their own right’. All submissions have been removed from their original context, breaking the messages or ideas for which they were created.
Using Index as a container, exhibition space and story telling device, the pages that follow have been edited to create pairs or combinations of images that can be read as new narratives. The book is an experimental exchange of out-of-context, repurposed text and image.

Project and launch to be held initially at Hanover Project, University of Central Lancashire, Preston.

Index 
Various artists and authors
01.04.14
56 pages
18cm x 26cm
b/w litho
edition of 1000

Index is a Café Royal project, supported by CADG, the Contemporary Arts Development Group.

Included in Index:

5 6 7 19 Sarah Bodman bookarts.uwe.ac.uk
8 9 10 11 Dr Sarah Cook University of Dundee 
12 Mark Adams markadamsimages.wordpress.com
13 Christophe Le Toquin katacri.net/christophe
14 Ray Ogar rayogar.com
15 21 56 Faye Coral Johnson fayecoraljohnson.com
16 18 Craig Atkinson craigatkinson.co.uk 
17 Dean Stephen Davies deanstephendavies.com
20 John Claridge johnclaridgephotographer.com
22 Jade Montserrat crescentarts.co.uk/site/jade-montserrat
23 Ravi Juneja ravijuneja.co.uk
24 Rachel Pursglove rachelpursglove.co.uk 
25 Anna McQuillin 
26 27 46 Meral Guler meralguler.com
28 Claire Boyd youjustgotboyd.com
29 Karen Harvey karen-harvey.co.uk
30 Thomas Darby thomasdarby.co.uk
31 Steven Marshall steven-marshall.co.uk
32 Julian McKenny processional.co.uk
33 42 43 Fabian Knöbl mondbewohner.com
34 Andrew Bracey andrewbracey.com
35 Andrew Seto andrewseto.com
36 Stephen McCoy mccoywynne.co.uk
37 Stephen Clarke stephen890@aol.com
38 39 Andrew Scott scottography@ascottm12.plus.com
40 41 Kenneth Gray kennethgray.co.uk
44 45 Stephen Fowler stephenfowler72.blogspot.com
47 David Dipré daviddipre.blogspot.com
48 Michael Dietrich dietrichmichael.com
49 Marc Vallée http://www.marcvallee.co.uk
50 Megan Wellington megangodwin.com
51 Egle Zvirblyte nakedteeth.tumblr.com
52 54 Matthew Birchall matthewbirchall.co.uk
53 Liam Clark liamashleyclark.com